Regional Hazardous Materials Team

About the Team

Rockingham County Department of Fire and Rescue is a member of the Central Shenandoah Hazardous Materials Response Team. This regional response team is made up of employees from Augusta County Fire and Rescue, the City of Harrisonburg Fire Department, and Rockingham County Department of Fire and Rescue.

Of this regional response team, Rockingham County Department of Fire and Rescue maintains approximately 20 – 25 hazardous materials technicians and specialists.
Dayton Hazmat in Dayton

Responsibilities & Service Area

This team not only provides mitigation and stabilization of events and emergencies involving hazardous materials within their own jurisdictions, but is also under contract with the Virginia Department of Emergency Management (VDEM) to provide mitigation and stabilization of hazardous materials events and emergencies in the following counties and independent cities:


  • Albemarle County
  • Amherst County
  • Augusta County
  • Greene County
  • Highland County
  • Madison County
  • Nelson County
  • Page County
  • Rockbridge County
  • Rockingham County
  • Shenandoah County

Independent Cities

  • Harrisonburg
  • Lexington
  • Staunton
  • Waynesboro