One-Time Civil Celebrant
Individuals wanting to perform a wedding ceremony in the Commonwealth of Virginia must receive authorization through the court, prior to performing the ceremony, pursuant to Virginia Code §20-25. Authorization will be on a one-time basis only. The authorization is only valid for a Virginia-issued marriage license and for a ceremony located in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Please allow 5-7 days prior to the ceremony for the authorization and bonding process.
*If PDF is not fillable when opened in browser, please download and use Adobe Reader, Adobe Acrobat or other PDF program to complete the form before printing. These forms are also available on a public workstation in the Clerk’s Office for completion and printing.
- Must be at least 18 years of age or older.
- Must never have been convicted of a felony.
- Must execute a $500.00 bond without surety. Signed after the Court authorizes the petition.
- Must reside in the 26th Judicial Circuit
- Includes Clarke, Frederick, Harrisonburg, Page, Rockingham, Shenandoah, Warren and Winchester
- The petition and cover sheet must be typed. Form is available in our office for completion and printing. If printing at home, please print each page separately, do not print double-sided.
- Bring a valid photo ID with you.
- There is a $61.00 filing fee payable at the time of filing the petition. We accept cash, checks, money orders and credit cards. All credit card transactions will include a 4% surcharge.
Request to Waive Bond - Please note that our court uses bonds without surety so no cash is required for the bond.